Danish Gambling Authority enhances customer due diligence measures


The Danish Gambling Authority has issued new AML measures for businesses and persons, including gambling operators, are obliged to undertake enhanced customer due diligence measures pursuant to section 17(2) of the Anti-Money Laundering Act if players are from a country listed on the European Union’s Regulation on High-risk Third Countries.

The regulation has been updated several times since 2016, so we recommend that gambling operators pay attention to possible amendments.

The European Union has just updated the Regulation again which includes amendments both in terms of adding and removing countries from the list. The listed countries are available on the European Commission’s website and is now as follows:

Afghanistan, Barbados, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gibraltar, Haiti, Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Panama, Philippines, Senegal, South Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Vanuatu, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.